Trans-Pacific Partnership


The Trans-Pacific Partnership  (TPP) trade agreement, concluded on October 5th, 2015, includes 12 countries that account for 40% of world GDP and include economies ranging from some of the world’s largest, most developed, and market-oriented economies to some of the smallest, least developed, and command economies. The countries include: the United States, Japan, Canada, Mexico, Peru, Chile, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Australia, and New Zealand. The trade agreement covers a range of subjects far beyond those negotiated in any previous multilateral negotiation, concerning everything from intellectual property and access to medicines, to financial regulations, food safety measures, basic labor and environmental standards, cross-border data flows, and state-owned enterprises.

House Democrats have identified a number of key issue areas in TPP that require greater understanding before Congress votes, including the environment, worker rights, access to medicines, auto rules of origin, investment, and currency manipulation.

Additional resources: