Chairman Neal Welcomes New Democratic Members to the Ways & Means Committee

Jan 9, 2019
Press Release
WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Chairman Richard Neal (D-MA) announced the appointment of ten new Democratic members to the Committee on Ways & Means for the 116th Congress.  
“I am thrilled to welcome these talented women and men to the senior committee,” said Chairman Neal. “Our new members hail from states across the country and bring a diverse array of backgrounds and experiences to our new majority. Their input will strengthen our work in the coming years to improve Americans’ retirement security, lower health care costs, cut taxes for middle-class families, and modernize our nation’s infrastructure. I congratulate these representatives on this honor, and on their expanded opportunity to serve their constituents an improve the lives of all Americans.”
Established in 1789, the Committee on Ways and Means is the oldest committee of the United States Congress, and is the chief tax-writing committee in the House of Representatives. The committee has jurisdiction over revenue and related issues such as tariffs, reciprocal trade agreements, and the bonded debt of the United States. Revenue-related aspects of the Social Security system, Medicare, and social services programs are also within Ways and Means’ purview. 
“Over two decades ago, I was appointed to the Ways & Means Committee, and since that day, I have believed that serving on this prestigious committee is one of the most consequential responsibilities a member of Congress can ever have,” added Chairman Neal. “Our work touches every American, every business, and nearly every corner of the U.S. economy. I am confident our new members will join us in using this privilege to advance Democrats’ progressive vision for the future.”
Democrats joining the Ways & Means Committee are:
  • Gwen Moore (D-WI)
  • Dan Kildee (D-MI)
  • Brendan Boyle (D-PA)
  • Don Beyer (D-VA)
  • Dwight Evans (D-PA)
  • Brad Schneider (D-IL)
  • Tom Suozzi (D-NY)
  • Jimmy Panetta (D-CA)
  • Stephanie Murphy (D-FL)
  • Steven Horsford (D-NV)