
 

State 

Impact of Democrat’s Proposed $400/weekly 
Unemployment Supplement  

% of Workers 
that Make More1  

Minimum 
Wage 

% Wage Replacement2 

Alabama 45% $7.25/hour 175% 
        

Arizona 40% $12/hour 133% 
        

California 55% $12/hour 133% 
        

Florida 45% $8.65/hour 175% 
        

Georgia 50% $7.25/hour 187% 
        

Illinois 40% $9.25/hour 158% 
        

Indiana 45% $7.25/hour 172% 
        

Kansas 60% $7.25/hour 180% 
        

Missouri 45% $9.45/hour 163% 
        

Nebraska 50% $9.00/hour 161% 
        

New York 50% $11.80/hour 141% 
        

North Carolina 50% $7.25/hour 175% 
        

Ohio  50% $8.70/hour 175% 
        

Pennsylvania  50% $7.25/hour 177% 
        

South Carolina 45% $7.25/hour 175% 
        

Texas 55% $7.25/hour 177% 
 

 
1 American Action Forum, Revisiting Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation Under the Biden 
Administration, Isabel Soto, February 8, 2021.  
2 Republican Committee staff estimates using DOL Comparison of State Unemployment Insurance Laws, 2019. 


