Skip to content

Camp, Ryan, Hensarling Joint Statement on Bowles-Simpson Proposal

November 10, 2010

Fiscal Commission members Dave Camp (R-MI), Paul Ryan (R-WI), and Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) issued the following joint statement in reaction to the preliminary proposal made by Fiscal Commission chairmen Alan Simpson and Erskine Bowles:

“We appreciate the leadership of Alan Simpson and Erskine Bowles on the Fiscal Commission, and their shared commitment to addressing our pressing fiscal challenges.  This is a provocative proposal, and while we have concerns with some of their specifics, we commend the co-chairs for advancing the debate.  We will continue to work toward solutions that help spur economic growth and restrain the explosive growth of government spending.”