Skip to content

Brady Applauds House Repeal of Obamacare’s Medical Device Tax, Passage of Health, IRS, Social Security, and Tax Bills

July 24, 2018

Washington, D.C. – Today, House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Kevin Brady (R-TX) released the following statement after the House passed multiple bills sponsored by Ways and Means Committee Members, including permanent repeal of Obamacare’s excise tax on the importers and manufacturers of medical devices:

“Our Committee Members work tirelessly to create a more accountable government that puts needs of taxpayers and our local communities first. The House took a huge step forward tonight in delivering further relief for patients by permanently repealing Obamacare’s job- and innovation-killing Medical Device Tax. We also passed many important bills today that will develop a more transparent and efficient health care system, increase accountability at the IRS, improve service at the Social Security Administration, and improve the tax rules affecting water infrastructure. I want to thank all of our Members for their hard work on these valuable measures, especially Committee Members Devin Nunes, Dave Reichert, Erik Paulsen, Mike Kelly, Kristi Noem, David Schweikert, Mike Bishop, John Larson, Ron Kind, and Suzan DelBene, along with Reps. Ken Buck, Rodney Davis, and John Moolenaar. I look forward to further action on this legislation in the Senate.”

The following bill passed the House today by a vote of 283 – 132:

H.R. 184, the Protect Medical Innovation Act of 2018, sponsored by Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-MN).

The following bills were passed by the House today by unanimous consent:


H.R. 1201, the Equitable Access to Care and Health Act, sponsored by Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL) and cosponsored by Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-MN), Rep. David Schweikert (R-AZ), and Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA).

H.R. 1476, the Native American Health Savings Improvement Act, sponsored by Rep. John Moolenaar (R-MI).

H.R. 4952, the Improving Seniors Access to Quality Benefits Act, sponsored by Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA) and Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI).

H.R. 6138, the Ambulatory Surgical Center (ASC) Payment Transparency Act of 2018, sponsored by Rep. Devin Nunes (R-CA) and Rep. John Larson (D-CT).


H.R. 3500, the Ensuring Integrity in the IRS Workforce Act of 2018, sponsored by Rep. Kristi Noem (R-SD).

Social Security 

H.R. 6084, the Improving Social Security’s Service to Victims of Identity Theft Act, sponsored by Rep. Mike Bishop (R-MI) and Rep. John Larson (D-CT).

H.R. 6124, the Tribal Social Security Fairness Act of 2018, sponsored by Rep. Dave Reichert (R-WA) and Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-WA).


H.R. 519, the Water and Agriculture Tax Reform Act of 2018, sponsored by Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO) and cosponsored by Rep. David Schweikert (R-AZ).