Skip to content

Brady Introduces Bipartisan Bill to Ensure Equal Treatment of Public Servants in Social Security Benefits

July 24, 2019

Washington, D.C. – Today, the top Republican on the House Ways and Means Committee Kevin Brady (R-TX) introduced H.R. 3934, the “Equal Treatment of Public Servants Act of 2019.” This legislation permanently repeals the windfall elimination provision (WEP) and transitions to a fair formula that treats our teachers, firefighters, and police officers just like everyone else.

Upon introduction of this legislation, the Texan lawmaker released the following statement:

For years, lawmakers on both sides of the aisle have called for a permanent solution to fix WEP.  This arbitrary Washington compromise has resulted in unfair treatment for our teachers, fire fighters, and police officers; and Texans simply cannot afford Congress to remain inactive and let this unfair policy be the law of the land.

“Now is the time for Congress to put forth a solution that can actually be signed by the President.  This legislation permanently repeals the current WEP, and instead uses a fairer formula that treats public servants like all other American workers.  Democrats agree that this is a problem we must address now, and we hope they join us in fixing this long-standing problem this year.  While I am introducing a bill today, I am committed to staying at the table to get a bill to the President’s desk”

CLICK HERE to read the legislation.


The following Members are original cosponsors of the legislation:


Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX)

Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC)

Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-TX)

Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX)

Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE)

Rep. Larry Bucshon, M.D. (R-IN)

Rep. Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX)

Rep. John Carter (R-TX)

Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)

Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R-TX)

Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX)

Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX)

Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX)

Rep. Garret Graves (R-LA)

Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY)

Rep. Kevin Hern (R-OK)

Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX)

Rep. Steve King (R-IA)

Rep. Bob Latta (R-OH)

Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX)

Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX)

Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX)

Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL)

Rep. Van Taylor (R-TX)

Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX)

Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX)

Rep. Ron Wright (R-TX)


The following groups have come out in support of this legislation:


Houston Firefighters’ Relief and Retirement Fund

Association of Texas Professional Educators

Texas Retired Teachers Association

National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association